Blog

0 4 0

☆彡 Everything is Liara. Again. Also, let’s not forget that Liara haters need to check their privilege.

★彡 If you ever decide to play “Mario Party” or “Mario Kart” with four loved ones, be prepared for some ruined relationships.

☆彡 Every time I see a photo of the damage Hurricane Sandy has done, my stomach sinks. I worry about everyone involved in that storm. I worry for my hometown especially, and all the people I know who still live there. I really cannot wait to see some recovery photos in the future. Until then, I will keep wishing the best for everyone involved.

★彡 I made a really stupid mistake yesterday. Those are the worst mistakes. There are: “Okay. It happened,” mistakes and then there are: “Did you seriously just do that?” mistakes. I made the latter. I would rather not discuss it because Mark made me promise not to dwell on the details any longer, but I’m kind of glad that it happened. Truth be told, hubris is a major flaw of mine. I take tremendous pride in my accomplishments to the point of forgetting everything else. Perhaps I put so much focus in my strengths because this is the first stage in my life where I really noticed them. Unfortunately, I lost sight of the fine line between being proud of yourself and just being obsessed with yourself. I never saw myself as a perfect or superior person. It is not like that at all. It’s just that my ambitions went from doing the best for others to being the best me. It took one dumb mistake for me to realize how many people I’ve let down in the process of pursuing only selfish ambitions. I…can’t wallow in my guilt anymore. I have to always remember what Xena said: “Don’t be sorry. Just improve.” Starting now, I have to start making goals that revolve around helping everyone around me.

★彡 Finally made it to Demise in “Skyward Sword”. In other words, I’m at the boss battle. This is around the time when I do a shitload of side quests and upgrade everything that can be upgraded. I’m fine with that. Despite being 70 hours into the game, I skimmed a lot of little quests that I meant to finish ages ago. Gotta work on that. >_<

☆彡 The fact that Nobuo Uematsu composed “The Guin Saga” anime makes it feel all the more like Final Fantasy *_*.

★彡 I see George Lucas giving Stars Wars to Disney as a way to bridge an old series to a new generation…which he has been trying to do since “The Phantom Menace”. So, this announcement doesn’t really shock me at all. Am I against the idea of Star Wars being pitched to a younger audience? Absolutely not. It is really the only way to keep a series alive. There is no benefit in keeping a series as esoteric as possible besides assuaging a few elitists. While elitists may pay big money for collectible things, they don’t pay as much as millions or even billions of fans. That is from a logical and business standpoint. From a sentimental standpoint, creators like to share their worlds, and sometimes the best way to do that is to branch out to different platforms. Thus, the new trilogy. It is a way to introduce the series to newer fans while also keeping some older fans interested. The only people really hurting from this decision are the people who believe that Star Wars has been ruined enough, and hate to see it go in a direction that may tarnish it even further. I cannot argue with a person’s preferences, or even their anger when their preferences are ignored and cast aside, but there does come a time when a fan of a series has to say: “Okay. I don’t agree with this, and it sucks, but there’re no use making a war out of it.” I don’t see the point in sending around petitions and boycotting the series. It will do more harm than good in the end.

☆彡 There is an anime called “Sword Art Online” that Mark and I have been obsessed with. It’s actually very depressing. It’s about a game creator who makes a virtual reality MMORPG, and then traps its players in it by threatening to emit microwaves in their VR helmets if they die in the game or if someone tries to unplug them in real life. The only way to escape is to make it through various levels of a tower without being defeated by bosses and traps. You could say it is similar to dot hack, but SAO is definitely grittier. A lot of people die. In one month, 2000 died. After that, the protagonist (who was a beta tester for SAO) goes through a lot of terrible situations. I feel really bad for him. Either way, I definitely recommend it. Especially if you’re an RPG fan. You will see characters run into a lot of issues you run into playing RPGs, but the downside is they die for it…so you probably shouldn’t watch this anime if you’re hoping to watch something upbeat. I still have to finish the series though. I’ll give an updated review once I watch everything.

★彡 Speaking of animes, I’m getting into “Eden of the East” and “Baccano”. I’m also re-watching some old ones like “Tenchi Muyo” and “Ah, My Goddess!”. I’ll have another marathon soon enough. One thing for sure is that it feels good to relive past passions again. I mean, I always watch anime…but not as frequently as I have been lately. It makes me want to get back into drawing manga again. I don’t mean one page every year type stuff, I mean an entire book in one month…without dwelling on the fact that I’m not an expert mangaka. I just want to do it. Baby steps, right?

☆彡 It is nice to have a computer that is strictly dedicated to Ubuntu/Linux. Now I can try out a bunch of codes without fretting about screwing up my computer…since it’s already screwed up for the most part. Luckily, it’s not so screwed up that I can’t run a new operating system on it. It’s just screwed up enough to randomly lockup and restart without my permission.

★彡 Naps used to be a counterproductive thing to me, but I am learning to enjoy them. They’re like a magical eraser…deleting all the bullshit one hour at a time. XD

☆彡 Link makes the weirdest noises when he’s cleaning himself. It’s a cross between a pig snorting and a dog growling. Then, of course, he always does this RIGHT next to my face wherever I lay down. Or, if I’m typing or drawing, he sits RIGHT on top of my hand before he begins taking his bath.  #catownerassistantproblems

★彡 I really love Deep Space Nine. I especially love the relationship between Odo and Quark. Watching their constant back-and-forth quips is…giggle inducing. I don’t know how else to describe it. Anyway, I have a long way to go before I finish the entire series. After that, I will probably move on to either Voyager or Enterprise. I’ve seen just about all of the original and The Next Generation, but that was ages ago. I’d like to re-watch those too. I…get a feeling that I’ll be well into my 30s before I finish everything. I get the same feeling for Doctor Who. Even if I sat down and watched the entire series day in and day out, it would take me years. Or maybe I’m exaggerating. It could just take a few months. Anyway, I don’t mind these marathons. Series time is usually hide under the blanket, yoga/stretching, or tea time. And…it is better when I am watching alone. I can only take so many jokes about the physical appearance of the Ferengi before I give up on my marathon XDD. I don’t allow shit talking about Odo though. Not up in here D:<! There are a lot of characters I adore, and I hate to think of any of them possibly dying…though I know some of them definitely will. Damn you, fandoms.

☆彡 At the top of every wishlist I have is a shotgun. I just want a shotgun…maybe wrapped in a bow…with some shells…the shells don’t have to be wrapped.

★彡 Finally caught up on season 4 of “Sons of Anarchy”. Seriously, what the fuck? That’s kind of the only reaction that I have right now. Tara aside, I’m getting tired of everyone’s bullshit in that show. I hope in the final season Tara just gets a flame thrower, yells “I’M TIRED OF SAMCRO FUCKIN UP MY LIFE”, and just burns everything to the ground. It won’t happen though. As a side commentary, there is a character on the show named ‘Kerrianne’, and every time they say her name in another room I think someone is calling me. It’s annoying. 😦

☆彡 This conversation happened today:

  • “What did you have for dinner last night?”
  • “Breaded whiting.”
  • “Oh, wow. I love those! What about lunch?”
  • “Breaded whiting.”
  • “…Should I guess what you had for breakfast?”
  • “…Let’s just say that your guess would not be incorrect.”

Then we laughed…yet breaded whiting is no laughing matter. It is very serious business. If anyone tried to separate me from my breaded whiting, I might have to challenge that person to Mortal Kombat.

★彡 Sketchbooks are super personal to some artists. Personally, when I find someone going through my sketchbook, I feel like they’re going through a personal diary. It just feels…intrusive. That is why you should always ask before you look. To state the obvious, a sketchbook is not a gallery. If an artist wanted everyone to see his/her work, he/she would post it publicly. So, don’t invite yourself into their sketchbooks or portfolios simply because you’re curious. That’s like a person inviting himself or herself into your bedroom or purse or e-mail/text message inbox or wherever is personal to you. It is disrespectful even if you didn’t mean to be.

☆彡 “Mirror Mirror” was terrible…but I don’t know what I was expecting. It wasn’t a complete waste though. Tarsem Singh always makes the most beautiful films.

★彡 I am participating in NaNoWriMo after all. I doubt I’ll make it to 50,000, but I need an excuse to write about some ideas that I have.

 

I’m out of things to contribute. Take care, citizens. >_<

Comment