064: A Return, Indeed

tumblr_m19wdl03v31qen34fo1_r1_500

☆彡 Note to self: Regardless of how unsure I am about the direction of a story or artwork I am working on, keep going! I improve and find ideas so long as I am working on something.

★彡 I am watching Sailor Moon Super with the dubs rather than subs, and I noticed something kind of disturbing for the first time. In the subs when the sailors are scolding villains, they usually say something along the lines of “How dare you disturb someone trying to accomplish a beautiful dream!” or “I won’t let you get in the way of this couple’s pure love!”. But in the English version, it’s primarily name calling and insulting someone’s appearance. Did the translator just sit there one night and go: “There is no way American girls will relate to Sailor Moon unless we make her really superficial. Let’s have her call villains ugly, poorly dressed, and witches. Yeah, that will do it!” That is just kind of sad to me. Almost as sad as hiding the fact that some sailors are homosexuals and transsexuals/cross-dressers. Basically, it’s as if they’re saying that little girls elsewhere are mature enough to handle these concepts yet American girls cannot. That’s not even kind of sad. That’s really sad.

☆彡 While I am on the topic of Sailor Moon, one of my favorite scenes in the anime is the scene when Sailor Moon fights Sailor Uranus and Sailor Neptune. It perfectly embodies why I adore Usagi so much. By the way, it starts at 13m and 47s.

★彡 I did something I haven’t done in 13-14 years. I bought some compositions notebooks, and started drawing and writing in them. One book is dedicated to drawing without the stress of ruining a good sketchbook, another book is dedicated to making manga, and the last one is a database of useful information that will help me with my creations–things like mythological names, drawing/writing tips, weapons, maps, etc. I am very close to buying a new scanner too. I just need to double check some things to make sure that I’m not ruining my budget. The last object I need in my “studio” is a working tablet, but that’s not terribly important. I can still make art with good ol’ pencils and colored pencils and markers…though I definitely need some new ones. Overall, I am pretty excited! I doubt I can ever scan anything in these books, so I will have to rely on some type of photo app or something to share it. I’ll see.

☆彡 Wow, I haven’t played Final Fantasy XIII-2 in a long time. Right now I am all out of wild artefacts, and I basically have to do busy work to find another one. Mark keeps telling me to just google their locations but…I don’t like to do that. It reminds me of using notes during a test. Even if it gets the job done, I feel like I don’t deserve to celebrate any victories that come afterwards. Weird. I know. So, I’ll just have to find patience and continue combing various locations and timelines for wild artefacts. Blah. Just thinking about it makes me want to play something else.

★彡 My favorite thing about Ming (of Lost Odyssey) is that she is a scantily clad woman who is wise. It is so hard to find this type of combination. More than often, a woman who shows a lot of skin in a television show or game behaves like an airhead. It’s only a few works like Final Fantasy and Ghost in the Shell that do not use the “amount of skin a woman shows is inversely related to the amount of things a woman knows” formula. Don’t get me wrong. I know that some people do fall into stereotypes, but it’s pretty bad when all of the women in a show or game who wears revealing clothing is automatically written off as uneducated. How does that type of universe work? “Oh, wow, let me put on this tube top–” PROMPT: YOU JUST LOST 80 IQ POINTS. “Okay, I’ll just get this turtleneck then.”

☆彡 I’m debating with myself about cutting my hair because it is past my shoulders again. A part of me is slightly curious to see how far it can go, but I know that the longer it gets the more frustrated I will become with it. Maybe I should put this decision off until it does become frustrating. Yeah, that makes more sense.

★彡 Damn, The Witcher 3 is going to be awesome. You know what else is going to be awesome? Man of Steel. If I am wrong about it in a few months then I will accept my wrongness, but I am really confident about this movie. It will be to the Superman movie series what Batman Begins became to the Batman movie series. And how did this go from The Witcher 3 to Superman and Batman? D:

☆彡 What I wouldn’t give to own the entire collection of the Berserk mangas. Well…I wouldn’t give my limbs or anything like that, but I’d trade in a good amount of my possessions.

★彡 March is going to be ridiculous in terms of gaming. Just a little preview of upcoming games: Bioshock Infinite, Tomb Raider, Gears of War: Judgment, and God of War: Ascension. Yeah…I’m going to listen to the little voice in my head telling me to avoid temptation. Adding another game to my list is not going to bode well for me. -_-

☆彡 When I think about all the things I don’t know or fully understand, it makes me feel…small. Worse than accumulating careless mistakes over the years, I hate looking back and realizing that I haven’t learned a satisfactory amount of things. As funny as it is, the thing that always makes me come to this conclusion is watching Jeopardy. Yeah…I know…LOL

★彡 Pet Peeve #81: Being called “honey”, “sweetie”, etc. I feel bad about this pet peeve because Mark likes to call people “dear”, and I know a lot of decent people who use terms like that to address others, but it just gets under my skin. And, no, Mark has no pet name for me. I told him from day one that if he called me “baby” or anything like that I would vomit. He still trolls me by calling me “boobie” but that’s as far as it goes. XD

☆彡 Dolsot Bibimbap:

yes good

★彡 I really love operas. It is literally a group of people singing a story. Think about how amazing that is for a second.

☆彡I like Tyrion’s philosophy to his flaws: wear it like armor. I like it a lot.

★彡 Adult Swim is supposed to release a shitload of awesome shows on Netflix this month. Cannot handle. D:

☆彡 Mass Effect borrowed a lot from the Star Trek universe. For example, there is a race of blue people called the ‘nasari‘ and they are fighting a race of primarily females called the taresian. The taresians are known for mating with other races in order to supplement their gene pool with new traits. Interesting, huh? That’s just a small percentage of the many things Mark and I found. I’m not even remotely mad at Mass Effect for that. I think it’s awesome that the Mass Effect team are (a)fans of the Star Trek series, and (b)capable of turning that inspiration into something amazing. Even if the asari is based on some Star Trek races, they are still neat. Hell, they’re better than the nasari and taresian combined! Besides, I can’t think of any great piece of work that didn’t borrow from another piece of work. TL;DR one cool project borrows from another cool project and everything becomes infinitely cooler!

I am on a drawing, gaming, and reading spree at the moment! As much as I would like to update on a daily basis and keep a better log of my life, I kind of buried myself in too many hobbies…and they are too fun to stop. LOL. I’m not complaining. I just have to find a way to squeeze other hobbies like writing and finishing random series in there. I’ll find a way.

The Borgs are finally showing up in Voyager, so I am getting into that immediately. o_o

Energize. *dematerializes* (….still gotta work on a good outro, I see…)

Leave a comment

Comment

