Congrats to Lupita Nyong’o!

tumblr_n1uc21dpmA1spiuxqo1_500

Lupita was amazing as Patsey in 12 Years a Slave! This award is beyond deserved!

And can we talk about her speech?
(BTW: I was not crying. There was an invisible onion in my vicinity.)

anigif_enhanced-21480-1393819740-2 anigif_original-grid-image-18970-1393820744-9 anigif_original-grid-image-18970-1393820746-14

Can we also talk about that Princess Tiana realness?

tiana-lupita

Okay, let’s be real.

I adored Tiana ever since I saw The Princess and the Frog in theatres, but Lupita looked far more majestic.  Like, Tiana is a princess but Lupita is a queen. Seriously, she looks GORGEOUS in blue. Well, she looks gorgeous in every color, but that blue though. It’s definitely her color.

lupitanyongo_sagawards

Okay, I am done fangirling. For now. If you know me IRL or you follow my tumblr then, yeah, prepare to be annoyed by me even more. Sorry. Kind of. Anyway, I really look forward to seeing more work from this gifted, beautiful, flawless, adorable, Final Fantasy-playing queen. I seldom get excited over actresses because, to be honest, so few have the ability to move me with their work, but Lupita pretty much shattered my spirit in thousands of ways as Patsey. The role of a slave has been played many times in cinema history but rarely with the skill and heart that I saw with Lupita. I hope that she will reach Oprah Winfrey and Halle Berry heights as a black woman in the entertainment industry. It would mean a lot to me, and many others who value representation.

*sigh* Those invisible onions are coming back, so I must depart.

Congrats again to Lupita!

Leave a comment

Comment

